Tucker Voters Decide Council Races, SPLOST Passes in DeKalb

This story has been updated from the original to represent final vote totals.

TUCKER, Ga. (November 8, 2017) – Several thousand Tucker voters went to the polls on Tuesday, casting ballots in what will go down as an historic vote in DeKalb County. The much-debated special-purpose local-option sales tax (SPLOST) was approved by a more than 24,000-vote margin, meaning DeKalb’s sales tax will soon stand at eight percent.

Proponents have hailed the SPLOST as a means to fund the County’s crumbling roads and infrastructure. In Tucker, the vote means an estimated $33 million will come to the City over six years to fund road projects, parks and recreation improvements, as well as upgrades to fire stations and public safety equipment.

The SPLOST vote was one of three referenda on the ballot, along with changing the Homestead Option Sales Tax (HOST) and preserving a property tax break for homeowners. Both these measures, designed to reduce the tax burden on homeowners in DeKalb County, passed comfortably by margins of around 30,000 votes.

Voters in Tucker also cast ballots in the City elections. The Mayor’s office, as well as half the City Council were up for election on Tuesday.

Mayor Frank Auman ran unopposed and was elected to a full four-year term. In District Two, Councilman Matt Robbins was also unopposed in his bid. District One voters chose Pat Soltys to the City Council. Soltys defeated incumbent Honey Van De Kreke. District Three Councilwoman Michelle Penkava, meantime, won re-election over challenger Dave Deaton.

The Mayor and new City Council will be sworn in in December and will officially assume their duties on January 1, 2018.

Tucker Social

Loading social feed...